Criminal trespassing involves entering someone's property including vehicles, without their permission. In order to legally enter someone's home, business or vehicle you must have "effective consent". This means that the owner or a person legally authorized to act for the owner has given their permission for you to enter.
According to Texas law, criminal trespass occurs when an individual enters your property or vehicle without your permission. If you failed to heed posted "No Trespassing" or "Private Property" signs or were given a verbal warning and entered the property anyway, this would be considered trespassing. Climbing a fence or other barrier to enter someone else's property without their permission is considered trespassing.
The criminal trespassing laws in Texas include someone's home, office, auto, or land.
Once you are convicted of criminal trespass, you could be facing heavy fines, jail time or both. If you actually damaged the property during the act of trespassing, your fine and jail time could be even higher.
Regardless of your sentence, you will have a negative mark on your permanent criminal record. This can make it difficult to rent an apartment, find a job or buy a home. Life does change once you have this criminal offense recorded against your name and your reputation is adversely affected.
Criminal trespass is a Class B misdemeanor that carries specific penalties and may be punished by a fine of up to $2,000 and/or 180 days in jail. But there may be ways around receiving this harsh sentence.
For first time offenders, there may be programs and other legal methods that can help an individual get a probated sentence. But it's important to get help from an experienced criminal trespass attorney in Houston.
If you or a loved one has been accused of criminal trespassing, then call the offices of Burton Law Firm right away. It's very important to obtain qualified legal counsel as quickly as possible. Work with a Houston lawyer who will fight for your rights!